B is for Blocked

I don’t know what you’re talking about. I refuse to hear you when you’re spouting such terrible nonsense. Pull yourself together you fallacy dribbling incoherent. I am definitely not blocked. Would I admit to it in the very title of this post if I was? Bad example. No, I can come up with a side splittingly funny list in double quick time without the need for outside stimulus or stimulant of any kind (they do mean different things don’t they? I meant completely disparate concepts when I wrote that so hopefully my intent will have carried over to you my very dear reader. This is no time for a crisis).

The ability to craft masterful lists is just one of the many well honed writerly and entirely witterate skills I have to hand cluttering up my knowledge hole. It’s no big deal, the work of a moment. That’s not to say that I don’t put in a really terribly considerable amount of effort during said moment. That is simply what I’m like as a writer, if you saw me at work you’d be terribly impressed (not that I would allow that particular eventuality to ever occur because I can’t stand it when people read over my shoulder. Or being in the room while people peruse my work. Or listening to feedback. I’m very glad I’m not there with you now. That’s not me in the corner with the scarily large and shiny knife. What mental breakdown?).

But that’s the way the winds of change are blowing at the moment (I have no need for segues to tie my writing together, not while I’m on a roll), towards the trend of funny lists because people simply don’t have the time in their busy lives to carve out a scanty five minutes or so to read a long form article. I don’t know why I bother with this thing sometimes, I really don’t. Please don’t go.

Leave a comment