36 Years of Common Folly

Never browse without safe search on. But be very aware that if you do and wander into something remotely niche that you will be haunted by supposedly targeted adverts forevermore. I just planned a wedding (not single handed but it’s a much cooler brag – provided it went off vaguely well – to pretend that it was something of a solo mission).

Over the course of this path to nuptial joy, I just so happened to kit out a battalion of bridesmaids (well, three. But apparently that’s enough). I really do not need to be besieged by reminders of purchases past. No matter how many times it is suggested to me by an ever increasingly persuasive internet, I will not be getting them outfits to change into.

I know this had to have happened after I bought my own dress but somehow it didn’t get to me quite as much. Or perhaps it’s because I’ve gone through the process at least once already that it’s bothering me now. My hope is that it will have all gone away and my ad spaces will instead be clogged with sunny vistas of Thailand (or possibly cookware because by now I’ll be a wife).

It doesn’t matter to the internet big boys and wedding apparel sites that targeted advertising doesn’t work in the vast majority of cases. So long as they can squeeze that sweet green from a tiny variety of users it’ll all be worth it. I don’t even know what my original point is but I want the manic girl children in formal wear to stop. Looking. At. Me. I can’t help you, can’t free you from your hellish existence.

Basically. take this whole confused rant as a public service announcement to clear your cookies and always online search with incognito mode on. It definitely doesn’t look dodge.

Song choices courtesy of: Murray Gold, Baha Men and Josh Record

Leave a comment