Thanks for Fucking up the World for Us

Very occasionally, there are days when I have thoughts and things to write about without the need for the format stimuli I usually depend upon. Upon reading this you’ll know what title I shoehorned around my musing but at the time of writing I really have no idea. Exciting isn’t it? It’s the whole Tory-DUP alliance thing, it’s given my pause for thought (courtesy of a chat with someone who’s a bit more inquiring than I am but they don’t have an internet blog to feed so I’m ripping off our conversation).

Is a good thing done for the wrong reasons actually alright? Or ought this fall into the similar yet opposite category of an injustice done for morally compelling reasons? Almost definitely the former but I gave you pause for a second or two didn’t I? I’ll freely admit that I haven’t done the deepest of dives into the figures (they were quoted at me but I’m sorry to say that I kind of sort of tuned out a bit, I had other matters on my mind at the time) but Northern Ireland has been getting something of the shorter end of the stick when it comes to per capita spending.

So, the DUP have managed to redress the balance a bit. Or perhaps not quite as straightforward as that, they have at least managed to push some of the issues we’ve been happily sweeping under the carpet to the forefront. However, this gives the DUP a major advantage when it comes to the next election (and it had better come soon, this feeble propping up is not what anyone would term legitimate government – probably).

All they need do is wave a hand at a brand spanking new hospital or recently patched up road and smugly suggest that it’s all down to their political savvy. Now, I’m not particularly familiar with the various ins and outs of the Good Friday Agreement but this does somehow smack of Westminster getting involved with Northern Irish politics and lending one side a clear advantage. I just hope it’s worth it Mrs May. Seriously though, I don’t begrudge them the money since it’s clearly needed, it won’t be lining the pockets of politicians (hopefully), it’ll go to infrastructure and that. But not for the right reasons.

Song choice courtesy of (sorry for no mash up but it seemed to fit the best): Beans on Toast

Leave a Reply

