Shepherd Book’s Last Fate

Courtesy of my new workplace, I have various new fancy toys to play around with. Also, I now have two monitors to enjoy along with the previously alluded to sophisticated hardware I’m trying rather hard not to destroy (as far as I’m concerned, this now means I’ve officially transitioned into the technology sector away from the medical or professional services or whatever I was doing before).

But enough bragging, we’ve got time for that later. As part of getting up to speed, I’ve been attempting to get my extra screen to perform all variety of interesting tricks. Thus far, I’ve made it turn off remotely (ah, the warm glow of pride. Behold my technical prowess and weep. Or, quite possibly, snigger) and display an array of Whedonverse quotes. It’s totally appropriate for my work station to include a thousand year old ex-demon protesting that she has finesse emerging from an orifice from which the sun does not shine, right? Anyway, I totally know how to change it so it’s basically fine.

Anyway, dipping back into that well of witticisms gets one thinking about characters who will never truly leave us. Despite being all kinds of dead. But who was Shepherd Book really? Sure, during one of his final scenes he as good as told us that he doesn’t have to tell us a damn thing about his murky history but that doesn’t exactly stop a girl from wondering. Even though, sad to say, he wasn’t exactly my favourite character. Not even amongst the limited pool of those with mysterious pasts (which to be fair, was most of them when you think about it).

Why did he know so much about the ways of the Alliance and have a more than seemly propensity for shooting kneecaps. Especially in a holy man. Sure, I could invent a history that more or less fits the bill. Or I could go hunting online for fan theories or breadcrumbs released by the relevant parties. And yet, perhaps his last fate is to remain forevermore an enigma to the slavering masses of rabid fans. But that’s a bit of a cop out. Or is it?

Song choices courtesy of: David Newman and Patrick Doyle

 

Leave a Reply

