V is for Vanilla

What is everyone’s big problem with vanilla? I suppose that might be stating things a little too strongly (it’s a bad habit of mine isn’t it? That and the frustratingly long and rambly sentences crammed with far too many ideas and made up words). But I have to admit something really rather controversial. Again, controversial is almost definitely straining emotions too far. How many times can I do this? Have I completely lost my thread? Is this starting to look really unprofessional? Do you know what a rhetorical question is?

I prefer vanilla to chocolate. Always have. Why is it the supposedly more boring choice? Was there or was there not a time when vanilla, in this corner of the world at least, was really pretty damn exotic? Granted, almost the same thing is true of chocolate but that’s hardly constructive to my initial musings. Vanilla is truly and utterly a lot more interesting than a lot of people give it credit for. As far as I’m concerned anyway (and we all know that’s the most important thing in this world or the next. My opinion).

I suppose that the real difference between them is merely that chocolate has versatility going for it in spades. It’s white, it’s dark, it’s cut with butterscotch, spiked with chilli, adulterated with coffee and paired with a whole host of other flavours I’m not going to bother to name. Like mint. And orange. Vanilla basically just goes round being vanilla. That’s not a problem though. Vanilla’s a badass, it stands alone, on its own two feet without the need for support in the taste department from anyone or anything else. It’s not that I have anything against chocolate, far from it. You know me, I love a good old hunk of chocolate should the occasion call for it (that occasion being pretty much anything) but when it comes to cake or ice cream or nutritional items of that ilk vanilla is vaguely king. To me.

Leave a Reply

